Many new people in Constantine village leadership

CONSTANTINE — Constantine had three new trustees, a new clerk, and a new village president at its Monday, Nov. 21 meeting. Anthony Scott, Rita Ganus and Kenda Cartagena were elected as trustees, and Myra Mathers as clerk, as write-in candidates at the Nov. 8 election. Gary Mathers ran unchallenged for the village president. No one ran for village treasurer. Village manager/police chief Mark Honeysett said in a memo that the council had to appoint a treasurer.
“The work schedule of our old treasurer Helena Baldwin was in conflict with her ability to perform her duties. She has done a terrific job as treasurer,” he said. “As it happens Helena just changed jobs so the conflict has been resolved and she is willing to resume the duty.”
The council voted to return Baldwin to the job.
One of the first actions by Gary Mathers was to present a list of committee assignments. Several people are currently completing terms. The list included the following.
•President Pro Tem: Cathy Piper
•Police Commissioner: Richard Larrance
DDA representatives: Gary Mathers, chair Larry Piper, Brenda Byler, Mike Ely, John Heskett, Greg Hoover, Jamie Judsen, Myra Mathers, John Schroer
•DPW representative: Willie Harder, alternate Anthony Scott
•Fire Board representative: Cathy Piper, alternate Anthony Scott
•Parks & Recreation representative: Kenda Cartagena, alternate Rita Ganus
•Personnel Committee: chair Willie Harder, Kenda Cartagena, Cathy Piper
•Planning Commission: Richard Larrance, Myra Mathers, Pat Weiss, Joelen Zimont
•Sewer Ad Hoc Committee: chair Gary Mathers, Willie Harder, Rita Ganus, Scott Chiddister, Pat Weiss
•SJCAC representative: Anthony Scott, alternate Gary Mathers.
In other council business …
Please see Saturday’s Commercial-News print or e-edition for the full article.

Three Rivers Commercial-News

124 North Main Street
Box 130
Three Rivers, MI 49093

Telephone: 269-279-7488
Fax: 269-279-6007
General email: